Destiny: The Collection Review

Destiny: The Collection Review Darryl Linington
Lasting Appeal
The best way to start Destiny.
User Rating: 7.9 (1 votes)

Developed by Bungie and published by Activision, Destiny: The Collection has finally arrived on the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. Now, if you have not already had the opportunity to dive into the world of Destiny, now is your chance as the most complete collection has arrived. The collection itself contains everything you need to get a head start in the game, if you are starting fresh, including a level booster that will essentially raise your Guardian’s level to either level 25 or level 40.

When taking a closer look at Destiny: The Collection you will find that it features the original base game, which is accompanied by the following expansion packs: The Dark Below, House of Wolves, and The Taken King. In addition to these, the collection comes with the latest Destiny expansion… Rise of Iron, which is essentially a cinematic story add-on, but more on that later.

Apart from the expansion packs and cinematic story add-on that Rise of Iron offers up, players who pick up Destiny: The Collection will also receive various different weapons and armour that will allow them to jump straight into the higher level missions sooner. These will need to be collected from various vendors located within the Destiny Tower, which is essentially the game’s hub world. One of the key highlights of the collection is all areas are essentially unlocked and the player can start the game how and where they like. While I would suggest playing Destiny in the chronological order that the DLC content was released, players can pick and choose where they want to begin.

For those looking for something more story driven, Rise of Iron is unlocked from the start; however, be warned, Rise of Iron has a bit of a steep difficulty level… so you may be better off grinding through the base game, The Dark Below, House of Wolves, and The Taken King before setting off into the story mode of Rise of Iron in order to get your Light Level up.

Rise of Iron is set in the Plaguelands, which can be accessed from Earth within the game. Under the command of Lord Saladin you will face a new faction of Fallen Devils, the Splicers, while unravelling the mysteries that surround the Iron Lords. While I will keep the story synopsis short, in order to avoid spoilers, Rise of Iron is a fairly short expansion pack that offers players around 2-3 hours of gameplay. It does start strong; however, falls a bit flat in the end.

While the new expansion is short, but totally worthwhile to experience, it tends to fall into the same Destiny routine that we have been subjected to since release, which is move into one area to clear out enemies… then move into the next area and rinse and repeat. This is where I was hoping Rise of Iron would change things up a bit, but unfortunately it does not.

While the campaign is repetitive, much like what we have experienced before from Destiny it does feature some great new weapons, armour, and gear, as well as a new cooperative three-player Strike, a new mode and maps for the Crucible competitive multiplayer, and an all new six-player cooperative Raid. In addition to this, Rise of Iron does feature some rather intense boss battles that will keep any Destiny player, whether they are a veteran or beginner, on their toes. Apart from the cinematic storyline, it’s Rise of Iron’s additional content that makes it a great expansion pack.

Moving away from Rise of Iron, Destiny: The Collection is the most complete Destiny experience a player will come across… It features all the content you could dream of… and even assist players in levelling up their Guardian with ease in order to keep things balanced.

Destiny: The Collection has come at the perfect time…. A time where the game is now mature enough to offer up a tremendous amount of content to not just new players, but veterans as well. To add to the highlights, the level booster is a welcomed addition and so are the new weapons, raids, armour, and other loot featured throughout the game.

When it comes to content, Destiny: The Collection is filled to the brim with it. Not only will you receive the base game, but you will also receive all the expansion packs, which include: The Dark Below, House of Wolves, The Taken King, and the all-new Rise of Iron expansion pack.

Rise of Iron is a decent expansion pack; however, I was truly hoping that it would incorporate new ideas that would make Destiny feel less repetitive than it has over the years. Granted, the cinematic storyline does add to the overall experience, but the repetitiveness of the core gameplay really brings things down a notch.

Overall, Destiny: The Collection is a great way to start your journey as a Guardian in the wonderful world of Destiny.

Destiny: The Collection was reviewed by Darryl Linington.

Follow @TechITOutMedia on Twitter
Follow @DarrylLinington on Twitter

Editor of Tech IT Out. Former radio host of Former Editor of IT News Africa and ITF Gaming. All round techie, gamer and entrepreneur. For Editorial Enquiries Contact: or via +27788021400.